The past couple days have been overwhelming and I’m not sure my feet have touched the ground yet, since the early morning call yesterday with the best news of my life so far: I’m a mom! Yes, I’m floating. 🙂

However, things are not finished yet, and I’m writing to ask for your help once again. God has provided so faithfully for everything that has been needed during this adoption, and I know He will finish what He has started. When I first received Mati’s referral 6 weeks ago, I sent in $4,500 for the Ethiopian government (through CCI), which covers the court costs and the other expenses they incur as they process and approve the adoption. This is half of their fee, and now that the adoption has passed court and is finalized in Ethiopia, I owe them the second half: another $4,500.

At the moment, I do not have this money. I have applied for 3 different grants and 2 loans through adoption financial assistance programs, but it may still be several weeks before I hear from them, and the money is due now. So many of you have already given so generously, and for this I cannot thank you enough. If any of you reading this have wanted to give, but have not yet had the chance, now is the perfect time! And for those of you who may not have considered giving before, but are considering it now, please pray and ask the Lord what He would have you do. If you do want to give, any amount, large or small, will help. You can click on “help bring mati home” at the top of this page and give through the Paypal links on that page, or you can email me directly at rachelaheller@yahoo.com if you’d prefer to give some other way. And for all of you who are invested in this process with me through your hearts and through prayer, but are unable to give financially, I ask only for your continued prayers.

Mati and I are both forever grateful to all of you for your continued prayer and support and I look forward to introducing her to you in person soon!